Line in the sand

It was the news we were expecting. We’re not pregnant. I knew. It doesn’t make it any less sad but we’ve been down this road before and now we are at the end of it. The end of the road, the end of our journey, a line in the sand.

The last couple of years have been an up and down of emotions and the last few weeks have been a condensed version of this. We knew our chances were slim but we had to try. Now it’s time to move on.

I’m sure I have more crying to do but right now I feel a bit numb. But I also feel like I need focus. Luckily I prepared for this. In 8 weeks time I have my first triathlon of the year. I have some serious training to do (after the gin I will be drinking tonight). Time to get back in shape and on with the year ahead.

We are devastated, of course. We both wanted a child to complete our little family, but we will survive. We are strong. Thank you to everyone who has supported us along this IVF journey. It has been so helpful to me to be able to talk about it.

3 thoughts on “Line in the sand

  1. Oh no, I am really sad to read this post. Your attitude is amazing, although I’m sure you’re not feeling amazing right now. I love that you have some tangible things planned ahead – they’ll hopefully help to distract you a little.

    Enjoy the gin and stay strong. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

