Getting to grips with needles

I’m not going to write every day but I think today deserves a little attention. Today was injection number one day. I had this thing in my head that the injections were going to be easy. After all, I’m not afraid of needles, I have had many injections over the years and give blood regularly. Funny then how it took me about 10 minutes to get it sorted 😉

I think maybe I suddenly realised the importance of it all. I can’t get it wrong. It’s not like in a hospital or a clinic where mistakes can be rectified pretty quickly. I can’t have too much, I can’t have too little, there has to be no air in the syringe, I have to put it in the right place, it has to be done at the right time. Oh my goodness, suddenly the pressure is immense.

needles

First of all it was about timing. The injection has to be given at the same time every morning. So what time do you choose? I’m very fortunate in that my colleagues and my boss at work know about this but still, do I want to be skulking off to the toilet to do this? Not really. So that means doing it early. But I’m off for half term next week and going away this weekend. Maybe I don’t want to get up at the crack of dawn 😦 Still, 7am seemed like the most appropriate time and a time when I can be (hopefully) somewhere sensible every day.

So, 6:30 this morning I was up. It took me about 6 attempts to get the syringe sorted. Back and forth, drawing up the liquid with the big fat needle, flicking the air bubbles down, squeezing the excess back into the bottle. Too much? Squeeze more out. Too little? Draw more back up. Shaking hands, increased heart rate, sweaty palms. This isn’t me. I’m the calm and collected one.

The alarm went off at 7am on the dot (obviously, as that’s what alarms do), large needle swapped for small needle, the patch of skin on my ‘pinching an inch’ section of tummy cleaned with an alcohol wipe and injection done. Phew. These are the easy injections. The tough ones start next week.

I guess I should now think about having breakfast, walking the dog and getting to work. Like I said, life goes on 🙂

Leave a Reply

